Big Sean has dropped his 2012 mixtape Detroit on streaming services to celebrate its 10-year anniversary.

The Detroit rapper announced the news on Sunday (September 4) before releasing the project at midnight. The mixtape comes complete with the original songs featuring J. ColeKendrick LamarFrench MontanaChris Brown, Juicy J, Wiz Khalifa, Royce Da 5’9, Jhené Aiko, Wale, SayItAintTone, Earlly Mac, Mike Posner, James Fauntleroy and Chip Tha Ripper.

There’s also the skits from Common, Jeezy and Snoop Dogg, with the addition of an unreleased track titled “More Thoughts” that was recorded in 2019.

“10 years since i dropped this baby n it’s finally available on all platforms + the song ‘More Thoughts,’” Big Sean wrote on Instagram. “What a journey it’s been already, cant thank y’all enough. #DETROITMixtape See you soon. New music very soon.”

Ahead of Detroit hitting streaming platforms, Big Sean took to Twitter to answer questions from fans about the making of the mixtape.

“The Detroit mixtape was the first time i got to collab with a lot of incredible artists (Jhené, Cole, Kendrick, Wale, etc.),” he said. “if yall got any questions about the making of this project n these times just use #AskBigSean #DETROITMixtape n I’m a answer.

“I was just in the vibe, i just wanted to rap n go in n have fun n stay creative. Try flows n just be experimental wit the shit. I was different coming out of Detroit for sure but knew i had the whole city on my back! #DETROITMixtape.”

Speaking on working with J. Cole, he said: “at the time n Cole were working in studios right next to each other at NO ID studio n seeing each other everyday in passing for awhile. That’s how we made 24k of Gold.”

Share this post:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Our NewsLetter will be active soon where we will bring you the most interesting topics straight to your e-mail.